The Day Job

What can I say? I dislike my day job. Well.. dislike is probably an understatement! Try – disdain, detest, even dread.

I enjoy the company of my colleagues, co-workers, associates or what have you but I’m at a crossroads in life. I’ve been battling with the ‘work-a-day-job-but-I-desire-to-be-self-sufficient’ nemesis for a while now (approximately 2yrs!!).

Back in 2007 I was a retail store manager for a body care company when I had the intuitive nudge to move to Phoenix, AZ. I figured this would be my debut. Upon moving, to a suburb in Maricopa County, I realized I had not left my hometown and moved 1500miles away just to be a retail slave – so I quit my $35,000/yr job! 

For years I wanted to be a ‘starving artist’ (LOL) so now was the time. My plan was not quite solid but I knew I’d have enough saved to at least pay bills for a few months. I began networking, painting almost daily and exercising two times a day (probably to keep my mind off the fact that I was so hungry *wink*).

There was a Peace Fest, in South Phoenix, that I spent my “life savings” (200 bucks!) on so that I could be a vendor. Not the smartest move but I met a ton of great artists and other vendors who gave me excellent advice and connections. 

I didn’t sell ONE piece; I guess people weren’t into large, rainbow spectrum inspired mushroom-filled canvases.

Nevertheless, I had to keep a truckin’. I couldn’t let that experience re-shape my views and outlook. Eventually I connected with people who were art connoisseurs and sold quite a few pieces (*double wink*).

Eventually I moved on to other forms of self-employment such as childcare assistance (which paid so much more!) but it was taking that initial LEAP to prove to myself that I could do it.

As time went on I debated & relocated and found myself right back in the clutches of a silly retail job. Aye yi yi! Now, I’ve matured, a bit, and realize that I need to have a solid plan mapped out with room for success, error and natural disaster (haha) but I’m still the same me and hate being ‘tied-down’ by corporate America.

This time around I’m in school, educating myself on something that I love (Childbirth Education) and will open many doors for my artwork, bodywork and metaphysical work. So although I have put in my two week notice (AGAIN!), this time I have complete and total trust in the safety net.

Photobucket

 

Consciously Birthing 2009                         jessica11eleven [at] yahoo [dot] com

Artwork by AerieousArts Illustration Co.    http://myspace.com/aerieous

About consciouslybirthing

Moon Manifesting Intuitive and Mentor, empowering women to harness their powers using the cycle of the Moon.

Posted on September 10, 2009, in Law of Attraction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

